PacVis: visualize pacman local database

PacVis
Demo of PacVis

Motivation for PacVis

I must admit that I love Arch Linux, largely because Arch Linux made me feel like I really own the whole system. In my Arch Linux system, I know clearly every package I have installed and why I installed it. I can find which package brings in a give file. A Debian/Fedora/openSUSE user with enough experience may achieve this with their favorite package manager too, but they must overcome a much higher complexity with their distro's fine-grinding packaging strategy. Usually they have 3 to 10 times more packages than Arch Linux on a similar setup. And with regard to packaging system, they must work with much more details than Arch's simple PKGBUILD based packaging.

Every user who successfully installed Arch Linux should have learned that, after the initial installation, you will only get a minimum setup. The most important step in the installation guide on ArchWiki is a command pactrap /mnt base , which will use /mnt as the filesystem root and call pacman -S base inside that root to install the whole base group. And that's basically all you will get after the install. The initial system has nearly nothing. Everything you need will be installed afterwards, manually by using pacman . It is nothing unnecessary, only for your own need.

But after using the system for a long time, there are unavoidably some packages inside the system which are installed and used for awhile and abandoned. They are like the old furnitures inside your house, taking space and covered by dusts. We have pacman -Qtd to help you find all orphan packages, namely those installed as dependency for other packages once but not needed for now , but for manually installed packages, we have no good tool but manually checking them one by one.

So I was looking for a tool to help me understand the relations in my system. In particular, I want a tool to help me do these things:

  1. Find packages that I installed manually but not needed now
  2. Find those large and space-consuming packages
  3. Understand the relationships between packages

About the last thing "relations between packages", I once saw the diagram of macOS Architecture and Android System Architecture, and I was impressed by the layered hierarchy in these diagrams. I was wondering since then, is it possible to draw a similar layered architecture diagram for modern Linux desktop ? Or will a Linux desktop be much different? I can find out hierarchy diagrams for Linux kernel or Xorg graphic stack on Wikipedia or other sites, but I don't know such diagrams for the whole distribution. And further I thought, can I draw such diagram from the dependency relationships between packages automatically?

Predecessors of PacVis

Before working on PacVis, I have tried several similar tools. Some of them meet some of my needs, but they all lack certain features that I considered important. These tools became the prototype of PacVis, as they enlightened me of how PacVis should be.

pactree

pactree started as an individual project , but now it is part of pacman. From its manpage we can see that the output of pactree is a dependency tree starting from a given package. By appending --graph parameter, pactree can also output a diagram in dot format, then we can render this diagram using dot command:

pactree pacvis-git -d3 --graph | dot -Tpng >pacvis-pactree.png
pactree --graph
$ pactree pacvis-git -d3
pacvis-git
├─python-tornado
│ └─python
│   ├─expat
│   ├─bzip2
│   ├─gdbm
│   ├─openssl
│   ├─libffi
│   └─zlib
├─pyalpm
│ ├─python
│ └─pacman
│   ├─bash
│   ├─glibc
│   ├─libarchive
│   ├─curl
│   ├─gpgme
│   ├─pacman-mirrorlist
│   └─archlinux-keyring
└─python-setuptools
  └─python-packaging
    ├─python-pyparsing
    └─python-six
 $ pactree pacvis-git -d3 --graph | dot -Tpng >pacvis-pactree.png

From the rendered diagram we can see that, because some packages may share common dependencies, the whole diagram is no longer a tree in graph theory . During the initial prototyping of PacVis, I tried to parse the output of pactree and pacman using bash/python scripts, to draw a single diagram for the whole system. However the rendered picture is so large that it takes hours for dot to layout them, and the result is barely viewable in an image viewer or a browser.

I need to say that there will be no PacVis if there is no pactree. Even the pyalpm library that I used in PacVis is a python binding for alpm, which is born during the rewrite of pactree in C language.

pacgraph

The output of pacgraph
pacgraph

pacgraph is developped by a Arch Linux Trusted User keenerd . It is written in Python, as is PacVis. Comparing with pactree, pacgraph is definitely more suitable for my needs. It will draw a diagram for all the packages in the system, using a clever layout algorithm that surpass the performance of dot's layout.

The output of pacgraph is an artistic diagram with different font size of package names showing their disk usage. By viewing pacgraph's output, we can determine the overall system structure, e.g. whether the system is a desktop system or a server. We can easily find large packages and consider remove them.

There's more. pacgraph provided an interactive GUI called pacgraph-tk, written clearly in tk. You can zoom in to see details or zoom out to see the whole graph in GUI, and you can highlight one package to see its relations to others.

And pacgraph support to render the dependencies of a selected group of packages, not all, like pactree does.

But pacgraph does not meet all my needs. I want a diagram to show the architecture of the system, but pacgraph don't differ "the packages that this package depend on" and "the packages that depends on this package". In other words, pacgraph draws a undirected graph, but I want a directed graph, that reflects the layered hierarchy of dependency relationship.

So here is PacVis

PacVis on startup
PacVis on startup

With these predecessors, I started working on PacVis. The development takes me 2 month, and largely break into 2 stages. In the first stage I wrote basic logics and a prototype of the UI. In the second stage I applied the templates from https://getmdl.io/ . Now finally it is usable for others.

So several days ago I made a PKGBUILD for pacvis on AUR: pacvis-git. Now it's fairly easy to run pacvis locally on a Arch Linux system. You can use any aurhelper you familiar with, or build it directly from AUR:

~$ git clone [email protected]:pacvis-git.git
~$ cd pacvis-git
~/pacvis-git$ makepkg -si
~/pacvis-git$ pacvis
Start PacVis at http://localhost:8888/

Following the instruction, open http://localhost:8888/ in a browser then you can see PacVis's result of your own system. As a demonstration you can also visit PacVis on my Arch Linux server : https://pacvis.farseerfc.me/ . It is showing a minimal server setup, that might load and layout faster than a normal desktop system.

PacVis on Windows msys2
PacVis on Windows msys2

As a side note, pacvis only depends on pyalpm and tornado, so there should be no problem running it on other pacman-based systems, including msys2 on Windows (altough building a msys2 python-tornado may take some non-trival effort).

The legend and usage of PacVis

PacVis resembles the UI of a map app such as Google Maps. You can use wheel of mouse to zoom and drag to move, or pinch gestures on a touch screen. There is a side panel on the right top corner and you can hide it when you don't need it. There are some zoom buttons on the right bottom corner.

PacVis showing pacvis-git

The dependencies of pacvis-git package

The whole diagram is made up of small circles and arrows in between circles. A circle represent a package, while an arrow represents a dependency relationship. If you zoom into details, you can see text under the circles showing their package names. Hover on packages will also give you infos about the package. You can select a package, and in the side panel there will be more detailed infomation about that package.

The above picture is showing the dependencies of pacvis-git package itself. It dependes on pyalpm, python-tornado and python-setuptools, while pyalpm is in-turn depend on pacman. A package in purple means it is installed manually, while a package in orange means it is installed as a dependency for other packages. The color of arrows usually follow their origin package's color.

Note that most arrows in the diagram are pointing bottom-up, this is because PacVis will do a topology sort based on the dependencies of packages. From the topology sort, PacVis assigned a topology level to each package, e.g. pacvis-git has a topo-level of 39, its dependency pyalpm has a topo-level of 38, and pacman is sat on the topo-level 37. Layering packages with their topo-level is the main difference of PacVis with pacgraph.

Besides manually zoom-in to look around, you can also use PacVis's search box to locate a particular package by its name. And when you select a package, the related package names will be shown in the Dep and Req-By tabs in the sidebar. These package names are made as buttons so you can click them to browse the whole dependency graph.

Let me describe some arguments related to the implementation:

Max Level

This will limit the max topo-level that PacVis renders. When there are too many packages, the layout algorithm will take a lot of time. Limiting this is very useful during debug of PacVis.

Max Required-By

This will limit the max required-by-relationship that PacVis renders. If you play around in PacVis, you will soon find that most packages in the system directly depends on glibc or gcc-libs. Rendering these well-known dependency may result in a lot of long arrows, that reduce the readability of the whole diagram. You can limit this to a lower number so that PacVis will not render these well-known dependencies.

Some facts you can learn from PacVis

A normal KDE desktop Full image(17M)
A normal KDE desktop in PacVis

You may find many facts by playing around in PacVis. An example will be the aforementioned "most packages depends on glibc". Besides that, I will give some more examples below.

Dependency hierachy

The packages in the system is clearly divided into several layers:

  • glibc, etc. C runtime
  • Bash/Perl/Python etc. script languages
  • coreutils/gcc/binutils etc. core binary utilities
  • pacman/systemd etc. large system utilities
  • gtk{2,3}/qt{4,5} etc. GUI toolkit
  • chromium etc. GUI Applications
  • Plasma/Gnome etc. Desktop environments

This largely meet my overall understanding, but some details are interesting to me. For example, zsh dependes on gdbm which in-turn depends on bash, which means that you can not get rid of bash even if you only use zsh. For another example, python package (which is python3 in Arch Linux) and python2 and pypy sit roughly on the same topo-level in the diagram.

zsh indirectly depends on bash because of gdbm

zsh indirectly depends on bash because of gdbm

However there are some facts beyond common knowledge, e.g. qt5-base < qt4 < gtk2 < gtk3 with regard to topo-level. Qt5 was split into several packages therefore it is understandable that qt5-base is lower than qt4. The fact that gtk is more high level than qt may beyond most expectations (including mine).

Circular dependencies

There are some packages that have circular dependencies in between. An example will be freetype2 and harfbuzz. freetype2 is a library for font rendering, and harfbuzz is a library to deal with OpenType font shapes. They depend on each other. Another example is kio and kinit of KDE. kio provides VFS-like and FUSE-like resource abstraction for KDE applications, while kinit is in charge of initializing KDE desktop environment.

freetype2 harfbuzz

Circular dependency between freetype2 and harfbuzz

Because of these circular dependencies, PacVis cannot simply apply topology sort directly. Before that, PacVis will firstly find all circles in the dependency graph to break these circles. It renders the relationship that will cause a circle as red arrows in the diagram.

Some packages don't have dependency relationship

PacVis Level 0

man-pages and licenses don't have dependencies

There are some packages that don't depend on others, and don't depended by others. They are isolated in the whole diagram, e.g. man-pages and licenses. These packages sit on the most top level of the diagram, with a topo-level of 0. PacVis will render them as blue squares specially.

Linux (the kernel) is unimportant, if we only look at dependencies

All userspace program depend on glibc, which calls the kernel using well-defined syscalls. As a result, if we only look at userspace dependencies, glibc and other GNU components are the center of the GNU/Linux distribution, while Linux the kernel is just located in a random place deeply blew the dependency graph. On my demo server the Linux package is even located on the most bottom level because it depends on mkinitcpio which in-turn depend on many components in the system.

pacman -Qtd cannot find orphan packages with circle dependency

pacman -Qtd cannot find packages with circle dependency

msys2 packages with circle dependency

I saw an archipelago of packages from mingw repo when testing PacVis on msys2. To my surprise, they don't connected to any manually installed packages, something strange as I routinely run pacman -Qtd and remove the results on all my systems. After zoomed in I found that they contained a circle dependency which indicated pacman -Qtd cannot find these orphan packages, not like a GC algorithm.

The future of PacVis

Currently PacVis is what I planned to make, with some features added during the development. Some of these added features are related to the poor performance of the layout algorithm (e.g. limiting the max level).

In the future I planned to add more features:

  1. More reasonable behavior for optdeps. Currently PacVis draw optdeps but do not consider it during the topology sort.
  2. More reasonable dependency resolution. Sometimes the dependency is not written directly as package names, instead they appear in provides array in the metadata. Currently PacVis resolve all dependencies using alpm directly, which will lose these information.
  3. Currently PacVis did not consider the repository (core/extra/community) and package group that a package belongs to. In the future PacVis may consider these infomation to render a clearer hierarchy.
  4. Currently PacVis cannot show only part of the packages. In the future we may provide the ability to draw only a part of all the installed packages like pactree/pacgraph does.

If you want some features in PacVis, please leave me an issue .

Leave a comment from this post's issue page using your Github account.
comments powered by Disqus

PacVis: 可視化 pacman 本地數據庫

PacVis
Demo of PacVis

我爲什麼要做 PacVis

我喜歡 Arch Linux ,大概是因爲唯有 Arch Linux 能給我對整個系統「瞭如指掌」的感覺。 在 Arch Linux 裏我能清楚地知道我安裝的每一個包,能知道系統裏任何一個文件是來自哪個包, 以及我爲什麼要裝它。或許對 Debian/Fedora/openSUSE 足夠熟悉了之後也能做到這兩點, 不過他們的細緻打包的結果通常是包的數量比 Arch 要多個 3 到 10 倍,並且打包的細節也比 Arch Linux 簡單的 PKGBUILD 要複雜一個數量級。

每一個裝過 Arch Linux 的人大概都知道,裝了 Arch Linux 之後得到的系統非常樸素,按照 ArchWiki 上的流程一路走下來的話,最關鍵的一條命令就是 pacstrap /mnt base , 它在 /mnt 裏作爲根調用 pacman -S base 裝上了整個 base 組, 然後就沒有然後了。這個系統一開始空無一物,你需要的任何東西都是後來一點點用 pacman 手動裝出來的,沒有累贅,按你所需。

然而時間長了,系統中難免會有一些包,是你裝過用過然後忘記了, 然後這些包就堆在系統的角落裏,就像家裏陳年的老傢俱,佔着地,落着灰。雖然 pacman -Qtd 能方便地幫你找出所有 曾經作爲依賴被裝進來,而現在不被任何包依賴 的包,但是對於那些你手動指定的包, 它就無能爲力了。

於是我就一直在找一個工具能幫我梳理系統中包的關係,方便我:

  1. 找出那些曾經用過而現在不需要的包
  2. 找出那些體積大而且佔地方的包
  3. 釐清系統中安裝了的包之間的關係

關於最後一點「釐清包的關係」,我曾經看到過 macOS 系統架構圖 和 Android 的系統架構圖,對其中的層次化架構印象深刻,之後就一直在想,是否能畫出現代 Linux 桌面系統上類似的架構圖呢?又或者 Linux 桌面系統是否會展現完全不同的樣貌? 從維基百科或者別的渠道能找到 Linux 內核、或者 Linux 圖形棧, 或者某個桌面環境的架構,但是沒有找到覆蓋一整個發行版的樣貌的。 於是我便想,能不能從包的依賴關係中自動生成這樣一張圖呢。

PacVis的老前輩們

在開始寫 PacVis 之前,我試過一些類似的工具,他們都或多或少能解決一部分我的需要, 又在某些方面有所不足。這些工具成爲了 PacVis 的雛形,啓發了 PacVis 應該做成什麼樣子。

pactree

pactree 曾經是一個 獨立的項目 ,現在則是 pacman 的一部分 了。 從手冊頁可以看出, pactree 的輸出是由某個包開始的依賴樹。 加上 --graph 參數之後 pactree 還能輸出 dot 格式的矢量圖描述,然後可以用 dot 畫出依賴圖:

pactree pacvis-git -d3 --graph | dot -Tpng >pacvis-pactree.png
pactree --graph
$ pactree pacvis-git -d3
pacvis-git
├─python-tornado
│ └─python
│   ├─expat
│   ├─bzip2
│   ├─gdbm
│   ├─openssl
│   ├─libffi
│   └─zlib
├─pyalpm
│ ├─python
│ └─pacman
│   ├─bash
│   ├─glibc
│   ├─libarchive
│   ├─curl
│   ├─gpgme
│   ├─pacman-mirrorlist
│   └─archlinux-keyring
└─python-setuptools
  └─python-packaging
    ├─python-pyparsing
    └─python-six
 $ pactree pacvis-git -d3 --graph | dot -Tpng >pacvis-pactree.png

從畫出的圖可以看出,因爲有共用的依賴,所以從一個包開始的依賴關係已經不再是一棵 圖論意義上的樹(Tree) 了。最初嘗試做 PacVis 的早期實現的時候,就是試圖用 bash/python 腳本解析 pactree 和 pacman 的輸出,在 pactree 的基礎上把整個系統中所有安裝的包全都包含到一張圖裏。 當然後來畫出的結果並不那麼理想,首先由於圖非常巨大,導致 dot 的自動佈局要耗費數小時,最後畫出的圖也過於巨大基本上沒法看。

然而不得不說沒有 pactree 就不會有 PacVis ,甚至 pacman 被分離出 alpm 庫也和 pactree 用 C 重寫的過程有很大關係,而 PacVis 用來查詢 pacman 數據庫的庫 pyalpm 正是 alpm 的 Python 綁定。因爲 pactree 的需要而增加出的 alpm 庫奠定了 PacVis 實現的基石。

pacgraph

pacgraph 的輸出
pacgraph

pacgraph 是一位 Arch Linux 的 Trusted User keenerd 寫的程序,和 PacVis 一樣也是用 Python 實現的。 比起 pactree , pacgraph 明顯更接近我的需求,它默認繪製整個系統的所有安裝包, 並且用聰明的佈局算法解決了 dot 佈局的性能問題。

pacgraph 的輸出是一個富有藝術感的依賴圖,圖中用不同的字體大小表示出了每個包佔用 的磁盤空間。通過觀察 pacgraph 的輸出,我們可以清楚地把握系統全局的樣貌, 比如一眼看出這是個桌面系統還是個服務器系統,並且可以很容易地發現那些佔用磁盤空間 巨大的包,考慮清理這些包以節約空間。

更棒的是 pacgraph 還提供了一個交互性的 GUI 叫做 pacgraph-tk ,顯然通過 tk 實現。 用這個 GUI 可以縮放觀察整幅圖的細節,或者選中某個包觀察它和別的包的依賴關係。

pacgraph 還支持通過參數指定只繪製個別包的依賴關係,就像 pactree 那樣。

不過 pacgraph 也不是完全滿足我的需要。如我前面說過,我希望繪製出的圖能反應 這個發行版的架構面貌 ,而 pacgraph 似乎並不區別「該包依賴的包」和「依賴該包的包」 這兩種截然相反的依賴關係。換句話說 pacgraph 畫出的是一張無向圖, 而我更想要一張有向圖,或者說是 有層次結構的依賴關係圖

於是就有了 PacVis

PacVis 剛打開的樣子
PacVis on startup

總結了老前輩們的優勢與不足,我便開始利用空餘時間做我心目中的 PacVis 。 前後斷斷續續寫了兩個月,又分爲兩個階段,第一階段做了基本的功能和雛形, 第二階段套用上 https://getmdl.io/ 的模板,總算有了能拿得出手給別人看的樣子。

於是乎前兩天在 AUR 上給 pacvis 打了個 pacvis-git 包,現在想在本地跑 pacvis 應該很方便了,用任何你熟悉的 aurhelper 就可以安裝,也可以直接從 aur 下載 PKGBUILD 打包:

~$ git clone [email protected]:pacvis-git.git
~$ cd pacvis-git
~/pacvis-git$ makepkg -si
~/pacvis-git$ pacvis
Start PacVis at http://localhost:8888/

按照提示說的,接下來打開瀏覽器訪問 http://localhost:8888/ 就能看到 PacVis 的樣子了。僅僅作爲嘗試也可以直接打開跑在我的服務器上的 demo: https://pacvis.farseerfc.me/ ,這個作爲最小安裝的服務器載入速度大概比普通的桌面系統快一點。

在 Windows msys2 跑 PacVis
PacVis on Windows msys2

另外補充一下,因爲 PacVis 只依賴 pyalpm 和 tornado ,所以在別的基於 pacman 的系統上跑它應該也沒有任何問題,包括 Windows 上的 msys2 裏(儘管在 msys2 上編譯 tornado 的包可能要花些功夫)。

PacVis 的圖例和用法

操作上 PacVis 仿照地圖程序比如 Google Maps 的用法,可以用滾輪或者觸摸屏的手勢 縮放、拖拽,右上角有個側邊欄,不需要的話可以點叉隱藏掉,右下角有縮放的按鈕和 回到全局視圖的按鈕,用起來應該還算直觀。

PacVis showing pacvis-git

pacvis-git 包的依賴

先解釋圖形本身,整張圖由很多小圓圈的節點,以及節點之間的箭頭組成。 一個圓圈就代表一個軟件包,而一條箭頭代表一個依賴關係。縮放到細節的話, 能看到每個小圓圈的下方標註了這個軟件包的名字,鼠標懸浮在圓圈上也會顯示響應信息。 還可以點開軟件包,在右側的邊欄裏會有更詳細的信息。

比如圖例中顯示了 pacvis-git 自己的依賴,它依賴 pyalpm, python-tornado 和 python-setuptools ,其中 pyalpm 又依賴 pacman 。圖中用 紫色 表示手動安裝的包, 橙色 表示被作爲依賴安裝的包, 箭頭的顏色也隨着包的顏色改變。

值得注意的是圖中大多數箭頭都是由下往上指的,這是因爲 PacVis 按照包的依賴關係做 了拓撲排序,並且給每個包賦予了一個拓撲層級。比如 pacvis-git 位於 39 層,那麼它依賴的 pyalpm 就位於 38 層,而 pyalpm 依賴的 pacman 就位於 37 層。根據層級關係排列包是 PacVis 於 pacgraph 之間最大的不同之處。

除了手動縮放, PacVis 還提供了搜索框,根據包名快速定位你感興趣的包。 以及在右側邊欄中的 Dep 和 Req-By 等頁中,包的依賴關係也是做成了按鈕的形式, 可以由此探索包和包之間的關聯。

最後稍微解釋一下兩個和實現相關的參數:

Max Level

這是限制 PacVis 載入的最大拓撲層。系統包非常多的時候 PacVis 的佈局算法會顯得很慢,限制層數有助於加快載入,特別是在調試 PacVis 的時候比較有用。

Max Required-By

這是限制 PacVis 繪製的最大被依賴關係。稍微把玩一下 PacVis 就會發現系統內絕大多數 的包都直接依賴了 glibc 或者 gcc-libs 等個別的幾個包,而要繪製這些依賴的話會導致 渲染出的圖中有大量長直的依賴線,不便觀察。於是可以通過限制這個值,使得 PacVis 不繪製被依賴太多的包的依賴關係,有助於讓渲染出的圖更易觀察。

從 PacVis 能瞭解到的一些事實

一個 KDE 桌面的 PacVis 結果全圖, 放大(17M)
A normal KDE desktop in PacVis

稍微玩一下 PacVis 就能發現不少有趣現象,上述「絕大多數包依賴 glibc 」就是一例。 除此之外還有不少值得玩味的地方。

依賴層次

系統中安裝的包被明顯地分成了這樣幾個層次:

  • glibc 等 C 庫
  • Bash/Perl/Python 等腳本語言
  • coreutils/gcc/binutils 等核心工具
  • pacman / systemd 等較大的系統工具
  • gtk{2,3}/qt{4,5} 等 GUI toolkit
  • chromium 等 GUI 應用
  • Plasma/Gnome 等桌面環境

大體上符合直觀的感受,不過細節上有很多有意思的地方,比如 zsh 因爲 gdbm 間接依賴了 bash,這也說明我們不可能在系統中用 zsh 完全替代掉 bash。 再比如 python (在 Arch Linux 中是 python3)和 python2 和 pypy 幾乎在同一個拓撲層級。

zsh depends on bash because of gdbm

zsh 因爲 gdbm 間接依賴了 bash

不過偶爾顯示的依賴層級不太符合直觀,比如 qt5-base < qt4 < gtk2 < gtk3 。 qt5 因爲被拆成了數個包所以比 qt4 更低級這可以理解,而 gtk 系比 qt 系更高級這一點是很多人(包括我)沒有預料到的吧。

循環依賴

有些包的依賴關係形成了循環依賴,一個例子是 freetype2 和 harfbuzz,freetype2 是繪製字體的庫,harfbuzz 是解析 OpenType 字形的庫,兩者對對方互相依賴。 另一個例子是 KDE 的 kio 和 kinit,前者提供類似 FUSE 的資源訪問抽象層, 後者初始化 KDE 桌面環境。

freetype2 harfbuzz

freetype2 和 harfbuzz 之間的循環依賴

因爲這些循環依賴的存在,使得 PacVis 在實現時不能直接拓撲排序,我採用環探測 算法找出有向圖中所有的環,並且打破這些環,然後再使用拓撲排序。 因此我在圖中用紅色的箭頭表示這些會導致環的依賴關係。

有些包沒有依賴關係

PacVis Level 0

man-pages 和 licenses 沒有依賴關係

有些包既不被別的包依賴,也不依賴別的包,而是孤立在整張圖中,比如 man-pages 和 licenses 。這些包在圖中位於最頂端,拓撲層級是 0 ,我用 藍色 正方形特別繪製它們。

只看依賴關係的話 Linux 內核完全不重要

所有用戶空間的程序都依賴着 glibc ,而 glibc 則從定義良好的 syscall 調用內核。 因此理所當然地,如果只看用戶空間的話, glibc 和別的 GNU 組件是整個 GNU/Linux 發行版的中心,而 Linux 則是位於依賴層次中很深的位置,甚至在我的 demo 服務器上 Linux 位於整個圖中的最底端,因爲它的安裝腳本依賴 mkinitcpio 而後者依賴了系統中的衆多組件。

pacman -Qtd 不能找到帶有循環依賴的孤兒包

pacman -Qtd cannot find packages with circle dependency

msys2 中帶有循環依賴的孤兒包

這是我在 msys2 上測試 PacVis 的時候發現的,我看到在渲染的圖中有一片羣島, 沒有連上任何手動安裝的包。這種情況很不正常,因爲我一直在我的所有系統中跑 pacman -Qtd 找出孤兒包並刪掉他們。放大之後我發現這些包中有一條循環依賴, 這說明 pacman -Qtd 不能像語言的垃圾回收機制那樣找出有循環依賴的孤兒包。

PacVis 的未來

目前的 PacVis 基本上是我最初開始做的時候設想的樣子,隨着開發逐漸又增加了不少功能。 一些是迫於佈局算法的性能而增加的(比如限制層數)。

今後準備再加入以下這些特性:

  1. 更合理的 optdeps 處理。目前只是把 optdeps 關係在圖上畫出來了。
  2. 更合理的 依賴關係抉擇 。有時候包的依賴關係並不是直接根據包名,而是 provides 由一個包提供另一個包的依賴。目前 PacVis 用 alpm 提供的方式抉擇這種依賴,於是這種關係並沒有記錄在圖上。
  3. 目前的層級關係沒有考慮包所在的倉庫 (core/extra/community/...) 或者包所屬的組。 加入這些關係能更清晰地表達依賴層次。
  4. 目前沒有辦法只顯示一部分包的關係。以後準備加入像 pactree/pacgraph 一樣顯示部分包。

如果你希望 PacVis 出現某些有趣的用法和功能,也 請給我提 issue

Leave a comment from this post's issue page using your Github account.
comments powered by Disqus